Delete Original Image

Delete the original image file uploaded. Allow this to be done automatically on upload or do it in bulk for all your images.

Author:Carlos Minatti (profile at wordpress.org)
WordPress version required:3.0.1
WordPress version tested:4.8.25
Plugin version:0.4
Added to WordPress repository:07-10-2014
Last updated:18-06-2017
Warning! This plugin has not been updated in over 2 years. It may no longer be maintained or supported and may have compatibility issues when used with more recent versions of WordPress.
Rating, %:66
Rated by:7
Plugin URI:http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/delete-or...
Total downloads:5 224
Active installs:800+
plugin download
Click to start download

Delete Original Image is a WordPress plugin to delete the the original image file uploaded.

The problem that solves, is that the original image file is usually huge (can be >6MB if it is a photograph) and it is never published on the pages, so there is no need to keep it on your server, and it it a must to delete it, if you have limited storage space and you are uploading tons of pictures.

The plugin gives you the option to enable/disable this, to be done automatically when you upload an image.

And/or you can do it in bulk for all your previously uploaded images.

Specifically, this plugin copy the ‘large’ image ( i.e: your-pic-1038×576.jpg ) to the original file path ( i.e.: your-pic.jpg ).

Nothing should brake, all other plugins should keep working, but you need to know that the original image is no longer available on your site, so please do a backup if you think you may need the original images in the future.


FAQ
ChangeLog