Allow specific WordPress roles ( except administrator ) to delete themselves.
|Author:||Clinton Caldwell (profile at wordpress.org)|
|WordPress version required:||3.7|
|WordPress version tested:||5.1|
|Added to WordPress repository:||09-04-2011|
|Total downloads:||41 606|
|Active installs:||7 000+|
Click to start download
Your Profile page.
Your Profile confirmation page. (This page is included out of the box)
Example of Shortcode Form. (Create a page like this and send users to it for delete confirmation)
Network Admin -> Settings -> Delete Me subpanel. (Multisite installations only)
Settings -> Delete Me subpanel.
What happens to Posts, Links, and (optionally) Comments belonging to a deleted user?
Most Post types and Comments are moved to Trash. Links are always deleted permanently.
Does this plugin support WordPress Multisite?
Yes, Network Activation and single Site activation are both supported. Users and their content will only be deleted from the Site they delete themselves from, other Network Sites will be unaffected.
When using Multisite, are users deleted from the Network or only the Site deletion originated from?
By default, users registered to multiple Sites on the Network are only deleted from the current Site and will remain registered to their remaining Sites. However, if the setting “Delete From Network” is checked, users will be deleted from the entire Network.
Is it possible for a user to delete anyone but themselves?
No, the user deleted is the currently logged in user, period.
What does the Shortcode display when users are not logged in or their role is not allowed to delete themselves?
Nothing, when using the self-closing Shortcode tag (i.e.
[plugin_delete_me /]). However, when the opening and closing Shortcode tags are used (i.e.
[/plugin_delete_me]), the content inside the tags will appear instead of the delete link.
Where are users sent after deleting themselves?
The Settings -> Delete Me subpanel lets you enter any URL you’d like to redirect deleted users to, set to homepage by default. You can leave “Landing URL” blank to have users remain at the same URL after deletion.
Is there a confirmation before the user deletes themselves?
May I be notified of users who delete themselves and what was deleted?
Yes. The Settings -> Delete Me subpanel has a setting called “E-mail Notification”, just check the box and save changes.
Does this plugin store any personal information about users?
No, the only data stored is related to the plugin’s settings which are located on the Settings -> Delete Me subpanel.
- Release date: 12/19/2018
- Added Role, First Name, and Last Name user data to email notification.
- Release date: 07/29/2018
- Bug fixed: Using a blank landing URL would cause a failure during redirect on some server configurations.
- Bug fixed: Landing URLs on the Settings page were incorrectly having http:// added to them when they did not contain a URL scheme.
- Release date: 05/25/2018
- Fixed 2 PHP parse errors affecting those using a PHP version less than 5.4.
- Added message for Administrators, in place of delete link (or form), to remind them the delete option configured is not visible to Administrators.
- Release date: 03/01/2018
- Multisite setting “Delete From Network” has been changed to be more intuitive. Users are now deleted from the entire Network regardless of the number of Sites to which they belong.
- Multisite setting “Delete From Network” is now unchecked by default.
- Multisite e-mail notifications now include the total number (if more than one) of Network Sites from which a user has been deleted whenever “Delete From Network” is checked.
- Release date: 02/16/2018
- Bug fixed: Added missing text domain to two translations.
- Removed invalid Plugin URI to comply with WordPress plugin Header Requirements
- Release date: 02/06/2018
- Added support for translation; a languages folder now contains a .POT file containing the English strings for translation.
- Removed wpml-config.xml to prevent conflicts and confusion between the database option and the newly added standard translation calls.
- Replaced donation link on Plugins page with link to Changelog.
- From this version forward, downgrading the plugin to a previous version will work but automatically resets settings to defaults.
- WordPress minimum required version changed from 3.4 to 3.7.
- Release date: 01/27/2018
- Bug fixed: Multisite installations with Network Wide enabled would not get selected role updates for roles of newly added Sites.
- Bug fixed: Error on user delete for WordPress versions less than 4.4.
- Release date: 01/26/2018
- Added Network Wide settings for Multisite installations that apply a single page of settings across all network Sites.
- Added a setting that requires users to confirm their password on the Your Profile confirmation page.
- Added a setting that allows inserting a form when using the shortcode instead of a link. This setting will also require users to confirm their password before deletion.
- Added “user_registered” (e.g. 2018-01-25 01:30:15) user data to the deleted user email notification.
- %sitename% can now be used for text replacement in the warning messages. The default warning messages have also been updated to include its use.
- Release date: 06/22/2016
- Applied init change discussed at https://wpml.org/forums/topic/delet-me-cant-be-translated/#post-919867
- Added wpml-config.xml file to allow easier use with the popular WPML plugin.
- Release date: 12/08/2015
- Fixed issue with using Shortcode multiple times on the same page or post.
- Release date: 07/15/2015
- The following new Shortcode attributes may be used to override settings, but are not required: class, style, html, js_confirm_warning, landing_url.
- v1.7 change reverted – %shortcode% term no longer used, attributes were added instead for a more complete and consistent way of customizing the shortcode.
- Release date: 07/14/2015
- Shortcode Link text can now contain %shortcode% which is replaced with the text inside the open and close shortcode tags. This was added to allow a dynamic way of changing the delete link text.
- Release date: 03/09/2015
- Added settings for Your Profile confirmation page Heading, Warning, and Button.
- Release date: 10/18/2014
- Your Profile and Shortcode “Landing URL” may now be left blank to remain at the same URL after deletion.
- Removed setting and code for “Uninstall on Deactivate”. You can still wipe all traces of the plugin from the Plugins panel by deactivating and clicking Delete.
- Added button on settings page, “Restore Default Settings”.
- Shortcode deletion link no longer relies on the get_permalink() function. This makes the shortcode’s placement more flexible and the link location more accurate.
- wp_logout() function is now run after user deletion to cleanup session and auth cookies.
- Delete link default updated, old = “Delete Profile”, new = “Delete Account”.
- Release date: 04/24/2013
- Added setting to enable or disable the delete link on the Your Profile page.
- Added an uninstall.php file. This enables removal of the plugin capabilities and settings when you “Delete” the plugin from the
Pluginspanel in WordPress.
- Fixed possible PHP Warning: missing argument 2
$wpdb->prepare()on Multisite installations using WordPress 3.5+
- Fixed possible PHP Fatal error: undefined function
is_plugin_active_for_network()on Multisite installations when adding a new Site from outside the WordPress Admin pages.
- Consolidated scripts to reduce the number of files used and the total plugin filesize.
- Release date: 04/23/2013
- Release date: 02/07/2013
- WordPress 3.4 now required.
- Added Multisite and Network Activation support.
- Added setting for Multisite to delete user from Network if user no longer belongs to any Network Sites.
- Added setting to delete comments.
- Edited e-mail notification to list the number of comments deleted.
- Release date: 04/11/2011
- Added setting for detailed e-mail notification when a user deletes themselves.
- Fixed undefined function errors for wp_delete_post and wp_delete_link when user has Posts or Links.
- Release date: 04/09/2011
- Initial release.